THE BAG PT. 2

March 31, 2010


Photo by Calli Higgins

On March 25, I guest-hosted WNYU’s The Math + Science Show, as I’m wont to do. Before hitting the station, I spent a good half hour sorting through my record bag. I needed to do this anyway, since my bag has a way of getting so full it’s no longer flip-through-able. But my big impetus for this early spring cleaning was the show itself: Wreck Tech, its usual host, spins stuff a good deal faster and darker than I usually would, and although I’d basically decided in advance I’d fudge his format as far into house as possible, I needed to throw down something respectable.

I was tremendously happy with the record bag I brought to WNYU, and I thought the show went over nicely. Unfortunately, the station’s archiver was down, and I was not terribly responsible with the CD recorder in the studio. My plan was to re-record my set at home straight from the playlist, bounce it to Soundcloud, and call it a night, but I quickly realized that wouldn’t be very fun or interesting.

Instead, I recorded a brand-new mix, using only records from my M+S bag and letting my radio show be my sole practice session. The original show was lost to time — and there’s only a pinch of overlap — but I rather like this session better.

James Blake – The Bells Sketch
Corrina Joseph – Lonely
Tevo Howard – Laboratory
Marcus Mixx – Without Makeup (Ron Hardy Mix)
Mount Kimbie – At Least (Instra:mental Remix)
Los Hermanos – Sun Dos
Club Ice – ManHassett (Larry Heard Remix)
Oni Ayhun – OAR04-A
Martyn – Hear Me (Zomby Mix)
Levon Vincent – These Games
Scuba – On Deck
Mr. Raoul K – No Food No Groove
Pangaea – Sunset Yellow
Virgo – Going Thru Life
Billy Love – Melloghettomental

The Bag Pt. 2 by jordanllc

Leave a Reply

